It’s Not That Easy Being Green

I am a huge Muppet fanatic. I have loved the Muppet’s since I was a toddler. Jim Henson is one of my idols and I remember exactly where I was when I heard about his death. I cried myself to sleep for a week.  Today, I received an email from one of my best friends with a great Muppet picture and it made my day. I have been up to my eyes in work and I desperately needed a moment from the chaos and frustration to smile.

I have always loved the song, “Being Green” as well. It may be my favorite song. It is simple and profound and ever beautiful.

I finally started reading the book In Defense of Food by Michael Pollan. I have been wanting to read it for a while, but had a chance to flip through it this weekend and was very impressed. I know that a lot of my health issues and weight issues could be remedied with a shift in my eating habits. It’s unfortunate that the busier I get, the harder it is to take care of myself…and that includes poor eating with processed food.

I know that the principles Michael Pollan suggests take more time and are less convenient, but I don’t want to get diabetes or cancer. Cancer is certainly not convenient either… It seems to me that a little more work now could really pay off in the coming years.

I am also really interested in a teaching job at a local school that focuses on green living. I’m nervous to apply because I want to make a good impression. There is sooo much competition – I’m super nervous, but here’s hoping that I am exactly what they’re looking for.

I don’t think all of this green stuff is a coincidence. It seems like a flashing neon sign. Green is the thing I should be focusing on. It’s not only important for taking care of the earth, but also taking care of myself. It’s not that easy, but its worth the time and the effort in the end. I think Kermit had it right all along:

When green is all there is to be
It could make you wonder why, but why wonder, why wonder,
I am green and it'll do fine, it's beautiful
And I think it's what I want to be
Leave a Reply

Post Calendar

March 2011
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Blog Categories

